New York Féile team visit to Garrycastle

Post date: Jun 26, 2015 9:50:54 PM

Garrycastle GAA Club were proud to host the New York 2015 Féile Peil na nÓg team on Thursday evening, for a practice match vs. the Garrycastle under-14 squad, followed by a BBQ and entertainment in the clubhouse.

A very entertaining match, in 4 quarters, was served up by both teams, played in a great spirit. The BBQ was greatly enjoyed by all present, and entertainment in the form of Irish music played by Brian Leahy, and Irish dancing from the McGovern sisters was greeted with great applause from the assembled crowd.

Club president Jack Veale made a short speech and presentation to the New York Team manager, wishing them the best of luck in the upcoming Féile in Wexford and Carlow. New York Team Manager Mike Healy reciprocated with a well received speech thanking the Garrycastle club for their hospitality, and especially John Henson, for all the work done in welcoming them to the club, and presented the club with a memento of their visit.

The Garrycastle club would also like to express their gratitude to the 12 host families who looked after the 24 New York players during Wednesday and Thursday.

At time of writing, (Friday evening), the New York team have started their Féile in great style, winning their first two games against St. Marys from Athenry, Co. Galway, and Naomh Eanna from Wexford. This guarantees the New York team a quarter final in the Division 1 cup competition.

Photo shows Mike Healy, the New York Team Manager, and Tom Farrell, Mayor of Athlone Municipal District with the Westmeath Senior football trophy, the Flanagan Cup, which is currently residing in Garrycastle.

Photo shows the New York and Garrycastle Team Captains and Managers, as well as Kathleen Kearney, Mayor of Athlone Municipal District, Tom Farrell, and Garrycastle Minor Board Chairman John Henson.

Photo shows the officials for the Under-14 match between the New York Féile team and Garrycastle. Refreee Michael Mannion, Linesmen Enda Keena and Paul Gunning, Umpires Brian Leahy, Liam Leahy, Loic Gately and James Dolan.