Under-17 / Minor

Under-17 / Minor Contact for 2023

Under-17 / Minor Coach Contact for 2023

For all enquiries related to the Boys Under-17 / Minor group in 2023, please contact Karl on 087 267 0627.

Under-17/Minor boys includes those born in 2006 and 2007.


Under-17 / Minor Coach Contact for 2021

For all enquiries related to the Boys Under-17 / Minor group in 2021, please contact Michael Fagan on 089 4881786.

Training times for this group may be found on the Training Schedule page.


Minor Championship - Division 2A 

Garrycastle are placed in Division 2A of the 2019 Minor Championship.

Division 2A comprises Cill Óige, Garrycastle, Moate All-Whites and St. Mary's Rochfortbridge.

The Schedule is as follows (as always, this is subject to change, so please check the fixtures page for details of when/where games are to be played).

Fixtures :


League Table:

The current table and all match results may be found on the Westmeath GAA Website.

Division 2

Garrycastle are in Division 2 of the County Minor league for 2019.

Division 2 comprises Athlone, Caulry, Cill Óige, Garrycastle, Lilliput Gaels, Moate All-Whites, St. Marys Rochfortbridge and Tubberclair.

The Schedule is as follows (as always, this is subject to change, so please check the fixtures page for details of when/where games are to be played).

Fixtures :


League Table:

The current league table and all match results may be found on the Westmeath GAA website.


In 2018, Garrycastle will play in Division 2. 

The Division comprises Garrycastle, Lilliput Gaels, Millmore Gaels, St Mary's Rochfordbridge, Multyfarnham, Tubberclaire, Mullingar Shamrocks, and Tyrrellspass. 

The Division 2 league table is on the Wesmeath GAA Website. 

Match reports are available via our Results page.

Minor Football League (Division 2) - Results 2018

GARRYCASTLE 1-13    LILLIPUT GAELS 1-06 (18 Feb 2018)


GARRYCASTLE 4-07    TUBBERCLAIRE 3-06 (15 April 2018)


GARRYCASTLE 5-11    TYRRELLSPASS 2-09 (16 May 2018)

MULTYFARNHAM 2-12    GARRYCASTLE 0-09 (6 July 2018)

Minor Football League Championship (Group A) - Results 2018

GARRYCASTLE 3-09    SHANDONAGH 2-08 (9 July 2018)

MARYLAND/TANG 1-14 GARRYCASTLE 1-09 (29 July 2018)


Minor Football Championship (Division 2) - Results 2018

GARRYCASTLE 6-15    MOATE ALL WHITES 0-05 (18 August 2018)

GARRYCASTLE 4-15    MULLINGAR SHAMROCKS 3-06 (Semi-Final -22 August 2018)

TUBBERCLAIR 2-14    GARRYCASTLE 1-13 After Extra Time (Final - 29 September 2-18)

Minor League Division 2 Champions 2017!

Garrycastle won the Minor league Division 2 title on 18 May 2017 with an away win against Millmore Gaels. You can read the match report here.

Team & Mentors: Back Row (L to R) Matt Ryan (Mentor), Bernard Brannigan (Mentor), Andrew Monaghan, Ian Carroll, Conor Macken, Jack Fitzgerald, Matthew McBride, Jack O'Connor, Eoghan Kenny, Brian Ruane, Dara Mulvihill, Dylan Keegan, Philip Monaghan, Eoin Mulvihill, Noel Galvin (Manager), Thomas Keena (Mentor).

Front Row (L to R) Shane Duffy, Patrick McKiernan, Matias O'Neill, Oisin Langan, Jason Nugent, Colm Lynch, Cillian Lyons and Joe Carmody.


Minor Division 2 Championship, Quarter Final

The Garrycastle Minor Team reached the Quarter-Finals of this years Division 2 championship, exiting at the hands of Miltownpass on Friday, September 2nd.

Team Photo: (click for bigger version)


Standing: Ian Carroll, Philip Monahan, Caolan Jameson, Brian Leahy, Jack O'Connor, Brian Ruane, Bill Kelly, Matthew McBride, Cathal Mannion, Conor Mulvihill, Dylan Keegan, Eoin Mulvihill, Noel Galvin (Manager)

Front: Robert Kelly, Shane Duffy, Cillian Lyons, Colm Lynch, Jack Brody, Ross Mulvihill, Mark Denby, Daniel Guinan, Patrick McKiernan

The match report is available here.


Garrycastle will play in Division 3 of the Minor League, which is a 13-a-side competition. The other teams in that division are, Kilbeggan/St Josephs; Tyrrellspass; Coralstown/Kinnegad; Ballycomoyle; Delvin/St Pauls and Multyfarnham.

Results 2015

Please note that match reports can be found on the "Match Reports page of this website"

Minor League (Division 3) Results 2015

TYRRELLSPASS 5-10          GARRYCASTLE 2-6 (22 June 2015)




Minor League Championship (Division 3) Results 2015

BALLYCOMOYLE 7-10    GARRYCASTLE 2-3  (19 August 2015)

September 27th, 2014

Garrycastle Minors in Division 3 County Semi-Final (13-a-side)

The Garrycastle Minor team lost out to Millmore Gaels in the Division 3 County semi-final in Kilbeggan on Saturday, Sept 27th. Fielding with only 8 minor players, and with three under-16 players making their debut at this level, it was always going to be an uphill task to win, and thus it proved on the day. 

Well done to all who turned out on the day - even with the game getting away from them, they did not let their heads drop, and played with huge effort right to the end. 

Match report to be found on the Match Reports page.


Back Row: Bill Kelly, Sean Kilgarriff, Liam Leahy, Matthew McBride, Caolan Jameson, Eoin Duignan, Adam Keena, Kevin McComack

Front Row: Cian Hayden, Ben Kennedy, Kenneth Dolan, Mark Duffy, Cathal Mannion, Mark Denby, Brian Leahy.


Minor training will be on Tuesday 8.00pm - 9.00pm, and Sunday mornings (usually 11.30am).


All results and match reports for the Minor team may be found on the overall club Results webpage.

October 13th, 2013

Garrycastle Minors in Division 2 County Final

The Garrycastle Minor team lost out to Rosemount in the Minor Division 2 county final held in Cusack Park, Mullingar today. The Match Report is now available. 

Team picture on the day:

Squad on the day:

Back Row: Sean Gunning, Liam Leahy, Eric McCormack, Darragh Brody, Emmet Brennan, Mark Curley, Eoghan Slevin, Eric Kearney, Evan Dalton, Donal Byrne, Conor McKiernan, Ben Kennedy, Conor Duignan.

Front Row: Darragh McCormack, Cathal Mannion, Frank Farrell, Mark Duffy, Michael Monaghan, Kenny Dolan, Terry Rushe, Cian Hayden, Adam Keena.

Team Sheet:

September 13th, 2013: 

Garrycastle Minors qualify for the Division 2 county final!

Click for Match Report.

Squad on the night:

Back Row: Eric McCormack, Sean Gunning, Emmet Brennan, Evan Dalton, Terry Rushe, Darragh Brody, Mark Curley, Eric Kearney, Michael Monaghan, Conor McKiernan, Jack McGann, Donal Byrne, Liam Leahy.

Front Row: Conor Duignan, Ben Kennedy, Frank Farrell, Adam Keena, Cathal Mannion, Kenneth Dolan, Darragh McCormack, Cian Hayden.