Senior Football Championship - Men

posted 14 Jul 2019, 11:00 by Garrycastle GAA   [ updated 15 Jul 2019, 06:33 by Matthew Ryan ]

Garrycastle gained two valuable championship points in this tricky fixture against last year’s champions. During the first quarter Shamrocks had the upper hand and led by four points to two after 15 minutes. From then to half time Garrycastle dominated the scoring, adding five points without reply. At this point Jason Nugent’s pace was causing huge problems for the Shamrock’s defence which along with Alex Gardiner’s accuracy and John Gaffey’s long range point taking helped build a 3 point half time lead. However, Shamrocks were dominating the midfield exchanges especially on their own kick out.

At halftime the Garrycastle management reacted by bringing James Sheeran into midfield whose height subsequently helped to give Garrycastle an even break in that area. In the early part of the second half play got scrappy with Jason Nugent getting very close attention some of which yielded a yellow card for his opponent. The Shamrocks defence were giving away frees which were converted by Conor Cosgrove (3). Another foul on Jason yielded a 2nd yellow and a red card for his opponent after 21 minutes. The pointed free by Eoin Monaghan left 3 between them 0-11 to 0-8. From there to the end it was all Garrycastle with points from substitute Michael Monaghan, Conor Cosgrove and Alex Gardiner. In one of the last plays of the game Jason found Conor Cosgrove with a good ball who was fouled for a penalty which Alex converted. While not reaching the heights of the league final It was still a workman like display with some good score taking and good tackling leading to dispossessions but also enough problems  to give management plenty to work on. Next up are The Downs  which is scheduled for Wednesday May 24th.

GARRYCASTLE: Sean Brennan, Matthew Guiheen, Jack Donoghue, Mark McCallon, James Dolan, John Gaffey (0-2), Gary McCallon, Justin Barrett, Jonathan McGuire, Jason Nugent (0-2), Doron Harte, Eoin Monaghan (0-1), Tom O’Halloran,  Alex Gardiner (1-3), Conor Cosgrove (0-5).

Subs: James Sheeran for Jonathan McGuire; Michael Monaghan (0-1) for Tom O’Halloran.