AIB Leinster Club Senior Football Championship, Round 1

posted 27 Oct 2019, 09:33 by Garrycastle GAA   [ updated 28 Oct 2019, 09:38 by Matthew Ryan ]

Our senior team had a comfortable over Kiloe in the first round of the Leinster club championship on Sunday last in TEG Park. Garrycastle took the lead at the end of the first quarter and led all the way to the end. Management selected Andrew Monaghan to replace the injured Tom O'Halloran which meant the three Monoghan brothers were in the half forward line.  

It was the veteran, Dessie Dolan who stole the early limelight by dominating Garrycastle ‘s attack and, scoring the first five points. An early goal chance for James Dolan was well saved by the Killoe keeper. After 15 minutes Jason Nugent had a half chance for a goal but unfortunately didn’t get a good connection and it was saved. Alex Gardner scored the first two of  three excellent points that he scored in the game, late in the first half to leave the halftime score 0-7 to 0-4  in favour of Garrycastle.

The second half continued with a sweeping Garrycastle move which ended with Mark McCallon pointing. The lead was increased to 6 when Alex Gardiner pointed a free from almost the sideline. Eoin Monoghan pointed after doing a lot of the hard work himself. Killoe began to run at the Garrycastle defence and were rewarded with two points. However, two points each from substitutes James Sheeran and Conor Cosgrove completed the Garrycastle scoring.

Killoe’s attack found it very hard to make any headway against the Garrycastle defence in which John Gaffey and Jack Donohoe were outstanding.  It was a workmanlike efficient display by a Garrycastle team who were on top in most sectors and maintained their form for the full hour and never really looked like losing. The second round is versus Meath champions, Ratoath also in Mullingar.

GARRYCASTLE:- Sean Brennan, Mathew Guiheen, Jack Donohoe, Mark McCallon (0-1), Doran Harte, John Gaffey, Gary McCallon, Justin Barrett (0-1), James Dolan, Andrew Monaghan, Eoin Monaghan (0-1), Michael Monaghan, Jason Nugent, Alex Gardiner(0-3), Des Dolan (0-5).   

Subs James Sheeran (0-2) for Jason Nugent; Conor Cosgrove (0-2) for Andrew Monaghan; Ger Henaghan for Des Dolan; Eoin Mulvihill for Gary McCallon;  Cathal Mannion for Michael Monaghan; Mickey Greene for Eoin Monaghan.