Boys Under-12 League

posted 29 Aug 2018, 15:54 by Garrycastle GAA   [ updated 29 Aug 2018, 15:54 ]
The Downs 2-05, Garrycastle 2-20 
The Garrycastle under-12 team made the long trip to The Downs on Wednesday evening to play the final group phase match in the under-12 league. A great turnout of 22 players made the long trip, and togged out in the Green and Red.  
The match started at a blistering pace with the Garrycastle team scoring some fine points from open play. The Garrycastle players tackled well, and continually ran at The Downs defence, opening the home team up with some great interplay. At the other end of the field, our defence was very solid, and dealt calmly with The Downs attacks, cleaning up all loose ball, and clearing their lines. The movement off the ball was also great to see, but sometimes the temptation was to take too much out of the ball, instead of getting the ball quickly and directly into the forward line. 
At halftime Garrycastle were leading on a scoreline of 1-15 to The Downs 0-01. 
At half-time we introduced all seven substitutes to give everyone present as much game time as possible. So many changes did have an unsettling effect on the team for  a short while, and the home team took advantage and scored two goals in quick succession. However, the Garrycastle team settled down, and responded with a number of score of their own to re-establish their lead. 
Overall, the Garrycastle team was much the stronger on the night, and all 22 players present played well. There is certainly some areas to work on, but overall, it was extremely heartening to see that this team is starting to play for each other, and operate as a unit.  

The final score saw Garrycastle win by 2-20 to 2-05. 

Panel on the night
Conor McCormack, Cian Norris, Anthony Mannion, Oisin Mulvihill, Nathan McKeon, Van McCay, Rian Gaynor, 
Christopher Malone, Killian Keegan, David Carter, Kasey Mulvihill, Andrew Henson (0-2), Tom Sheehan (0-2), 
Niadh Shine (0-4), Aaron Keegan (0-1), James McHugh (1-4),  Kealan McNamara (0-3), Calum Hudson (0-1), 
Dylan Frawley (0-1), Jack Dolan, Sean O'Donoghue (1-2), Darragh Glennon.