Boys Under-12 League

posted 2 Aug 2018, 03:02 by Garrycastle GAA   [ updated 2 Aug 2018, 03:02 ]

Garrycastle played Multyfarnham in the second round of the Under-12 league (phase 2), in a wet Garrycastle on Wednesday evening. 

As is usual this time of year, the number of players available was greatly reduced due to summer holidays and other commitments. Even so, we still were able to field 17 players on the night, although with only 4 of our under-12 players available, it was very much left to our under-11 and under-10 players to fill out the team. As such, we knew we would be up against a physically stronger Multyfarnham team.

However, all the Garrycastle players played magnificently, showing a huge work-rate and stepped up their game all over the pitch. They fought for every ball, and importantly, did all the simple things well.

Both teams got off to a good start with the opening points being shared equally. The Garrycastle team started to take control, playing to its strengths, passing the ball around cleanly, and attacking in numbers once the chance was on. The wet conditions meant that at times the ball was difficult to hold, but when we did hold onto the ball we got the rewards. At half time the Garrycastle team led on a scoreline of 2-02 to 0-04.

The Multyfarnham boys came out strong in the second half, scoring a quick goal and point. The Garrycastle boys did not panic and kicked the next four points to open up the lead again. With the Garrycastle team doing some  continuous running off the ball, the space started to open up and we scored two great goals. Both teams played some excellent football in the wet conditions, tackling hard, and some fantastic kick passing which was great to see. 

As the final whistle blew, the Garrycastle boys ran out the winners, on a final scoreline of Garrycastle 4-09 to Multyfarnham 2-05. 

Many thanks to Multyfarnham for a very fair competitive game, and to our supporters on the night.

Team on the night:
Conor McCormack, Cian Norris, Van McCay, Anthony Mannion, David Carter, Nathan McKeon,
Killian Keegan (0-01), Rian Gaynor, Aaron Keegan (0-01), Niadh Shine, Christopher Maloney,
Paddy Stephens (1-01), Darragh Glennon (1-03), Calum Hudson, Jack Dolan, James McHugh (2-03),
Dylan Frawley.