Minor League (Div 2)

posted 18 May 2017, 13:21 by Matthew Ryan   [ updated 30 Jun 2017, 02:37 ]

Garrycastle minors secured the Minor League Division 2 title with a comprehensive win over the home side in Milltown last Thursday evening. Needing at least a draw to secure the league title the Garrycastle lads put in a powerful performance to run out easy winners.


The early exchanges were quiet even and Millmore Gaels took the lead with a good point after some 4 minutes of play. Garrycastle responded with a point from Jason Nugent but Millmore Gaels restored their lead with yet another point. A second point from Jason Nugent had Garrycastle level by the 9th minute and when Brian Ruane scored the first goal in the 12th minute the Garrycastle lads got completely on top of proceedings. A point from Oisin Langan was soon added to by a goal from Jack O’Connor and Oisin Langan added a third goal by the 21st minute. Garrycastle kept up the pressure and added a fourth goal, this again scored by Jack O’Connor, and a point from Brian Ruane to leave them ahead by 4-4 to 0-2 at the break.


Taking up where they had left off, the Garrycastle boys added two more goal in the opening minutes of the half, coming from Joe Carmody and Oisin Langan. Garrycastle introduced a number of substitutes and remained in control of proceedings. Another point from Joe Carmody had stretched the Garrycastle advantage by the 34th minute. Substitute, Ian Carroll, added a goal with his first touch. Millmore Gaels had a point, but yet another goal was scored by Joe Carmody. Brian Ruane added a point from a free. To their credit Millmore Gaels had three points in as many minutes to leave the final score 8-6 to 0-6 at the final whistle.


A fine performance by all the team, who displayed fine teamwork throughout. The defence were solid throughout and as the list of scorers’ displays, the Garrycastle forwards took their scores well and made good use of the wonderful opportunities presented by their teammates. They can now look forward to the upcoming championship with confident, but will know that they must perform consistently well in every game if they are to challenge for championship honours.


GARRYCASTLE: Matthew McBride, Robert Kelly, Matias O’Neill, Conor Macken, Colm Lynch, Shane Duffy, Cillian Lyons, Dara Mulvihill, Eoin Mulvihill, Dylan Keegan, Jason Nugent (0-2), Philip Monaghan, Jack O’Connor (2-0),  Oisin Langan (2-1), and Brian Ruane (1-2, 0-1f).

SUBS: Joe Carmody (2-1) for J Nugent (inj, 17 min); Ian Carroll (1-0) for O Langan (35 min); Andrew Monaghan for D Keegan (37 min); Jack Fitzgerald for C Macken (38 min); Eoghan Kenny for J O’Connor (40 min); Patrick McKiernan for M McBride (40 min).