Junior Championship - Group 3

posted 21 Jul 2017, 01:18 by Garrycastle GAA   [ updated 26 Jul 2017, 09:02 by Matthew Ryan ]

Our junior team got their championship campaign off to a winning start in a showery Rosemount on Thursday evening last. Starting the better Garrycastle scored three points before Rosemount registered their first score after ten minutes. Then the home side had a period of dominance adding three more points and taking the lead. Still trailing by a point Ciaran O’Neill started the best move of the match out in midfield and after a series of passes the same player finished the ball to the net to give Garrycastle the lead. A feature of the latter stages  of the first half was the number of scores the Garrycastle forwards missed. Their three point (1-5 to 0-5) lead didn’t reflect their superiority.  

However all was to change early in the second half, with the rain bucketing down Garrycastle  took over and quickly put the game out of Rosemount’s reach. After five minutes and three points added to their tally, the goal feast started with one from Robbie Shine and two from Paul Mulvihill to leave the score 4-8 to 0-6. In a rare attack Rosemount were awarded a penalty which was expertly saved in the Garrycastle goal by Michael Fagan.  Another six points were added before Ciaran O’Neill added his second goal.  This was a good performance by Garrycastle  but there will be tougher challenges ahead. The next game is versus Tyrellspass  in Tyrellspass  on this Thursday (July 27th) at 7.30pm.

Garrycastle: Michael Fagan, Sean Carey (0-1), Mark Curley, Gary Mullery, Gavin Ward, Anthony Larkin(0-1), Enda Keena, Damien Rushe (0-1), Ciaran O’Neill (2-2), Paul Gunning, Brian McCormack, Paul ODonovan (0-1), Paul Mulvihill (2-1), Robbie Shine (1-2), Cathal Mannion (0-3). 

Subs: Peadar Mulvihill for Brian McCormack; Conor Duignan (0-2) for Paul O’Donovan; Colm Lynch for Damien Rushe;  Stephen Maguire for Paul Gunning; Unused subs: Conor Macken, Adam Keena, Ben Kennedy, Eoin Duignan, Kevin McCormack, Jason Turley, Richie Byrne, Ross Mulvihill.