Senior Football Championship

posted 15 Aug 2016, 02:09 by Matthew Ryan


Garrycastle suffered their second defeat in the 2016 Senior Championship when they were beaten by three clear goals by The Downs in Rochfortbridge on Saturday last. The game was not as one sided as the score line might suggest and it was still in the melting pot in the last 3 minutes with The Downs leading by just two points. They then blitzed Garrycastle with 2 goals in a 2 minute spell into injury time to deservedly take the spoils.

The game started with Eoin Monaghan putting Garrycastle a point up with an opening attack which could have delivered a goal. In response, The Downs went up the field from the kick-out and punished the Garrycastle defence which seemed to be caught napping with a goal. This was followed by two quick points and a second goal to put The Downs six points up after 10 minutes. Garrycastle responded well to this early setback and put a number of good scores together including a goal from Conor Cosgrove. By the 20th minute the sides were level and after exchanging a number of points were still level at the half-time break with a score of 2-5 to 1-8.

Garrycastle were first off the mark in the second half with a Conor Cosgrove pointed free. The Downs then put together a number of scores with a third goal and some well taken long range points. Garrycastle added another Conor Cosgrove goal followed by a James Dolan point to leave 2 points between the sides on 50 minutes. The last 10 minutes is when the game turned in The Downs favour. A penalty for Garrycastle taken by Robbie Shine was saved and this seemed to lift The Downs and also deflate the Garrycastle team. There were a number of wides for Garrycastle and then The Downs pounced to finish off the game with two late goals.

There will be plenty for the Garrycastle team to reflect on and they will need to up their performance as they prepare for their next outing in the Championship.


GARRYCASTLE: Sean Brennan, Neal Rattigan,  Jack Donohoe, John Gaffey,  Mark Curley, Doron Harte, Gary McCallon , Justin Barrett, James Dolan (0-1),  Eoin Monaghan(0-4), Damien Rushe (0-1), Matty Guiheen (0-1),  Tom O’Halloran (0-1),  Robbie Shine(0-1, 1f), Conor Cosgrove (2-2, 1f),


SUBS used. A. Browne for D. Rushe (HT),  M McCallon for N Rattigan (HT),  A. Larkin for M. Curley (50 mins) M. Monaghan for R. Shine (50 mins).