ACL Division 3

posted 19 Mar 2016, 11:45 by Garrycastle GAA   [ updated 19 Mar 2016, 17:29 ]
Garrycastle started this game very strongly, and soon had scores on the board with a point from Matthew Guiheen and a goal from Neal Rattigan following an excellent pass from Cathal Mannion. A brace of points from the home team were answered by a point from Paul Mulvihill, before the home team took over and scored 4 points in a row, to take a one point lead into the half-time break. In truth, the home team were unlucky to lead by only a single score, as they kicked a large number of wides. 
A number of changes for the second half saw Tom McHugh introduced at full-back, with Anthony Larkin moving to midfield, Neal Rattigan in to the half-forward line and Noel Galvin moving to the edge of the square. The changes paid dividends with a quick point from Paul Mulvihill to bring the sides level. The home team then struck for two points in succession before Garrycastle hit a purple patch, with Conor Cosgrove grabbing two goals in the space of two minutes, and a point from Sean Brennan putting Garrycastle in the lead by four points. 
A foul by Sean Carey (which earned him black card) gave a simple free for the home team to convert, and buoyed on from this only a point-blank save by Shane McEnery in the Garrycastle prevented them levelling the game, although they did salvage a point to leave three between the sides.  
As full time approached, Garrycastle lost possession in the half-back line, and were punished immediately by an unstoppable shot from the home corner-forward, which arrowed to the top left hand corner of the net, giving Shane no chance. The home team even had a chance to win the game in added time, but again, their shooting left them down.  
This was a game where Garrycastle had very good spells (the first 15 minutes in both halves), but also where they faded out for periods, and yielded the initiative to their opponents. Overall, a draw was probably a fair result. 

Shane McEnery, Gary Mullery, Anthony Larkin, Sean Carey, Enda Keena, Mark Curley, Frank Farrell, Justin Barrett, Neal Rattigan (1-0), Matthew Guiheen (0-1), Noel Galvin, Cathal Mannion, Ciaran O’Neill, Conor Cosgrove (2-1), Paul Mulvihill (0-2).
Subs:Tom McHugh for Ciaran O’Neill (half-time), Sean Brennan (0-1) for Paul Mulvihill (45 mins), Brian Leahy for Sean Carey (black card, 50 mins), Brian Carty for Brian Leahy (58 mins), Emmet Ward for Justin Barrett (black card, 60+2 mins).