Under 14

posted 30 May 2015, 09:25 by Matthew Ryan

Garrycastle 6-8 Athlone 3-14

Garrycastle Under 14 team recorded their first win in the Under 14 league with a hard earned victory over neighbours Athlone in a highly entertaining match in Pairc Chiarain  on Thursday night last. Garrycastle playing into the breeze  opened the scoring in the first 10 minutes with two fine points before Athlone came into the game and dominated most of the first-half to lead by 1-8 to Garrycastle’s 0-3 at half time. Garrycastle were determined to make use of the wind in the second-half and scored some fine goals from play and also converted a penalty. They took an eight point lead at one stage in the second half before Athlone came back with a goal from a penalty to bring themselves back into contention. Garrycastle had to withstand severe pressure in the final ten minutes and the goals they got early in the second half were the difference in the end.

Garrycastle can be thankful to their keeper Michael Dooley who made numerous saves throughout the whole game that ensured that Garrycastle emerged victorious.

In the full back line Ryan Cornally, Daniel Mc Manus and Joseph Henson defended heroically and  their distribution of the ball was excellent. Robert O’Brien, Tommy Stephens and Cathal Redmond had to be at their best to contain the fast Athlone forwards. The midfield pairing of Dylan Keegan and Fergal Mullin were outstanding throughout the hour and ensured that their forwards got plenty of the ball, and also came to the rescue of the defence on numerous occasions. The half forward line of Ben Kilkenny, Luke Clinton and James Murphy scored  some fine goals to keep Garrycastle in contention in the match. Peter Mulvihill, and Saumil Sharma laid off some good ball to the other forwards and worked hard for the entire match. Hopefully Garrycastle can build on this performance going forward  and with the return of some players there might be brighter days ahead for this team.

Garrycastle team: Michael Dooley, Daniel Mc Manus, Ryan Cornally, Joseph Henson, Cathal Redmond, Robert O’Brien, Connie Stephens, Dylan Keegan (0-4), Fergal Mullin (2-2), Ben Kilkenny(2-0), Luke Clinton (2-1), James Murphy (0-1), Peter Mulvihill, Saumil Sharma.