Under-10 Castledaly Tournament

posted 29 Sept 2015, 13:25 by Garrycastle GAA   [ updated 29 Sept 2015, 13:26 ]
The Garrycastle Under-10 team travelled to Castledaly on Tuesday evening, to play Kilbeggan/St. Josephs in the third round of the Castledaly tournament. For once the weather was nice, and we had an excellent evening for football. 
Garrycastle started the game brightly, and had the first point on the board, from Diarmaid Murtagh. The Kilbeggan/St.Josephs team responded with a couple of points of their own, before Killian Redmond pounced on a loose ball to score a well-taken goal for the green-and-red. The Garrycastle lads tried to push home the advantage, but were caught by a very good counter-attack almost immediately. A couple of points from Jamie Carroll ended the half, with the Garrycastle lads trailing by 3 points at half time. 
Immediately on the resumption, Jamie struck for another point, and this was added to by Diarmaid, to reduce the difference to the bare minimum.The Kilbeggan/St. Josephs team struck back with an unstoppable goal, before Tom Sheehan and Thanh McCay scored two fine points to again reduce the difference to a single score. However, this was to be as close as the Garrycastle lads got, as the opposition tacked on 4 points in a row. Jamie was almost rewarded when his blistering shot taken at full speed on the run seemed to have a goal written on it, only to be denied by a superb save from the Kilbeggan/St. Josephs keeper. The same player denied Diarmaid similarly a minute later, and even though Diarmaid knocked over a late point, the Kilbeggan/St. Josephs team ran out worthy winners on the night. 
This result leaves Garrycastle facing a semi-final for the Plate competition, due to be played on Sunday morning next. The opposition for the semi-final has not yet been determined. 
Conor McCarthy, Jack Mulvihill, Anthony Mannion, Tom Daly, Brian Mulvihill, Kealan Ryan-McIntyre, Jamie Carroll, Diarmaid Murtagh, Tom Sheehan, Thanh McCay, Killian Redmond, Oisin Nugent, Mattie Wozniak, Conor Sheehan, David Carter, Brandon Devaney, Dean Grehan, Sean O'Donoghue, Sean Doyle, Killian Keegan, Matthew Conner.