Senior Football Championship, Section A

posted 2 Aug 2015, 16:03 by Anrai Niall

Garrycastle 0-7 Tyrrellspass 2-10

Garrycastle suffered their first defeat in the 2015 Senior championship when they were well beaten by Tyrrellspass in Cusack Park on Saturday evening last.

With some players unavailable due to injuries, Garrycastle lined out with James Dolan and Justin Barrett in midfield and Eoin Monaghan making his first appearance since his injury in October 2015.

Tyrrellspass were first on the scoreboard with a point in the first minute of play. Garrycastle then won three frees in succession in the first five minutes all of which were converted by Conor Cosgrove as they dominated the early period of the game. A long range point from Justin Barrett added to Garrycastle's tally by the midpoint of the first half.

Tyrrellspass then worked their way through the  Garrycastle defence and found the net to level the game and they shortly followed with a point to put them ahead with ten minutes remaining in the first half.

Further points from Alex Gardiner and another long range effort from James Dolan put Garrycastle ahead but Tyrrellspass responded just before the break to level matters to leave the half time score at 0-6 to 1-3.

The beginning of the second half saw neither side dominate and it  was the 40th minute before Tyrrellspass registered the first point. Tyrrellspass then found the net for the second time and at this point it was clear that Garrycastle were in trouble and needed to respond. The introduction of Dessie Dolan at this point gave some hope to the Garrycastle cause. Despite a number of creative moves through the half, the inability to finish off these moves with scores proved costly.  

On the other hand, Tyrrellspass showed that they had the accuracy and added six more points to their tally. A point from a free at the end of the 60 minutes was all Garrycastle had to show for their endeavours.

Needless to say a significant improvement will be needed in the next game if Garrycastle are to make any impression in this year's  Championship.

GARRYCASTLE Cathal Mullin, Mark Mc Callon, Jack DonohoeAlan Fox,  Doron Harte, John Gaffey, Gary Mc Callon, Justin Barrett, James Dolan, Neal Rattigan, Damien Rushe, Mattie Guiheen, Conor Cosgrove (0-3, 3f), Alex Gardiner (0-1), Eoin Monaghan

Subs: Michael Monaghan for Eoin Monaghan (20 mins),  Dessie Dolan for Damien Rushe (45 mins), Gavin Ward for Mattie Guiheen (56 mins)