Minor League Championship

posted 20 Aug 2015, 05:33 by Matthew Ryan

BALLYCOMOYLE 7-10                    GARRYCASTLE 2-3


Garrycastle minors, who had a number of absentees due to the school graduation functions, suffered a heavy defeat in their opening game in the League Championship in Ballycomoyle last Wednesday evening.


Ballycomoyle were a bigger and stronger outfit and made full use of this advantage to race into an early lead, scoring a couple of goals and points in the opening quarter. Garrycastle did respond with a point from a free by Cathal Mannion. The home side continued to dominate and added a third goal, from what looked a soft penalty award. An improvement from the Garrycastle lads saw two further points from Cathal Mannion, one from a free and one from play. Jack O’Connor then added a goal to bridge the gap somewhat. However, Ballycomoyle added a fourth goal on the stroke of half time to lead 4-3 to 1-3 at the break.


Mathew McBride was brought on in goal at the break with Shane McEnery moving to midfield for the second half. However, the home side continued to dominate and while Garrycastle did have some scoring opportunities, players were guilty of looking for goals when points were on offer. Conor Mulvihill did score a goal for the Garrycastle boys after some good approach play. The final score 7-10- to 2-3 in favour of the home side.


This was a very disappointing performance from Garrycastle, and the lack of match practice in the lead up was clearly evident. They will have to show significant improvement, determination and work-rate in their remaining fixtures. Mark Denby, Loic Gately, Ross Mulvihill, Brian Ruane and substitute Matthew McBride were most prominent for the Garrycastle side.


GARRYCASTLE: Shane McEnery, Brian Leahy, Mark Denby, Jack Brody, Loic Gatley, Sean Mulvihill, Ross Mulvihill,  Bill Kelly, Brian Ruane, Cathal Mannion (0-3, 2f), Eoin Duignan, Jack O’Connor (1-0) and Conor Mulvihill (1-0).

SUBS: Matthew McBride for C Mulvihill; Caolan Jameson for S Mulvihill; Conor Macken for E Duignan; Ian Carroll for J O’Connor; Conor Mulvihill for B Kelly;