Junior Football Championship Quarter-Final

posted 5 Sep 2015, 15:55 by Anrai Niall   [ updated 5 Sep 2015, 15:56 ]

Ballycomoyle  1-9   Garrycastle 1-8   

Garrycastle travelled to Milltown on Friday last for their Junior Championship Quarter-final match against Ballycomoyle. 
Ballycomoyle were first off the mark with a point in the first minute. This was quickly followed by a Cian Hayden point to level the score. A further point from Ballycomoyle was equalised by a free from Kenny Dolan. Dolan was on hand again to equalise a few minutes later and leave the sides level after the first quarter. Shortly afterwards Peader Mulvihill was replaced by Jonny Maguire and it was Maguire who got Garrycastles next two points either side of a Ballycomoyle point to put Garrycastle ahead by the narrowest of margins at the half-time break.

Ballycomoyle then took over at the beginning of the second half and went into a 3 point lead. This lead was eliminated when Kenny Dolan finished to the next to level the score in the 40th minute. Cian Hayden then got his second point of the match and and this was followed by two pointed frees from Kenny Dolan. The dismissal of Jonny Maguire for a second Yellow card offence seem to lift the opposition and they managed to break through the Garrycastle defence with four minutes remaining to find the back of the net and reduce Garrycastle's lead to a single point. Suddenly the momentum was with the North Westmeath men and they kept their composure to level the match and then within seconds remaining take the lead. The referee blew for full time on the kick-out and Garrycastle were out of the Junior Championship.
The overall performance on the day was patchy and this was a game that Garrycastle were in control of with 5 minutes remaining and should have closed out. It was a big disappointment for players and mentors to lose in such a fashion considering how well the team had played in the league stages. 
GARRYCASTLE: Shane O'Connell, Gary Mullery, Tom McHugh, Ben Kennedy, Frank Farrell, John O’Shaughnessy, Anthony Larkin ,Mark Curley, Noel Galvin, Cathal Mannion, Cian Hayden (0-2), Peadar Mulvihill, Paul Gunning, Kenny Dolan(1-4,3f)), Alan Daly

Subs: Jonny Maguire (0-2) for Peadar Mulvihill (15 mins), Robbie Shine for Paul Gunning (35 mins), Padraig Cosgrove for Cian Hayden (56mins)