All County League (Division 2)

posted 15 Mar 2015, 15:39 by Anrai Niall

The Downs 2-10   Garrycastle 2-12 


Garrycastle’s second team collected their first points in the 2015 ACL Division 2 campaign on Sunday morning last away to The Downs.   The visiting team were first off the mark with a point from Conor Cosgrove. The home team responded scoring three points in a row before the Garrycastle forward line clicked into gear and Michael Monaghan finished to the net. There then followed a period of dominance for Garrycastle who hit four points without reply including a fine individual effort by Enda Keena to lead by five with 10 minutes remaining in the first half. The Downs then lifted their game and started to dominate and reduced the lead to the minimum with a point followed by a goal. Garrycastle had the last say and a Conor Cosgrove free left the score at 1-6 to 1-4 in Garrycastle's favour when Referee Jim Rock blew for half time.

The second half saw The Downs score first and reduce the margin to one point. Two points from Conor Cosgrove put Garrycastle three points ahead. The Downs then took over midway through the second half as Garrycastle seemed to lose their way and the home team went into a 2-8 to 1-8 lead. Noel Galvin then hit a point with his left to break the momentum but The Downs added two more points to lead by four points and were looking most likely to secure victory. However, Garrycastle rallied and a further two points from Ciaran O'Neill and Michael Monaghan followed by a goal from Ciaran O'Neill who had earlier seen another goal chance come back off the upright made for an exciting finish to the game which was closed out with a Michael Monaghan pointed free.

This was a great team performance and the team showed great spirit to come back in the last five minutes and turn around a four point deficit and go on to win by two in the end.


GARRYCASTLE: Stephen McGuire, Ben Kennedy, John O’Shaughnessy, Tom McHugh, Gary Mullery,Mark Curley, Anthony Larkin,  Ciaran O'Neill (1-1), Jonny McGuire, Enda Keena(0-1), Eric Kearney,  Michael Monaghan (1-3,1f), Kenny Dolan, Noel Galvin (0-1), Conor Cosgrove  (0-6, 2f)

Subs:  Paul Mulvihill for N. Galvin G.Ward for B. Kennedy. Not used Emmet Keena, Colman Gantley.