Junior Football Championship (Section B)

posted 23 Aug 2014, 13:01 by Garrycastle GAA   [ updated 23 Aug 2014, 13:01 ]

Garrycastle consolidated their position near the top of the Junior Championship Section B table with a comprehensive win at home to Killucan on Friday evening last. 

Led by captain on the day Peadar Mulvihill, due to injury to Padraig Cosgrove, the home team blizted Killucan in the opening 5 minutes. Noel Galvin was first off the mark with a point and then 2 goals in quick succession from first Conor Cosgrove and the evergreen Alan Daly were followed by a point each from the same two players to put Garrycastle 2-3 up before the visitors got their first score. A further 4 points, one from Cosgrove, two from Daly and one from Galvin increased the lead for the home team. Jonny Maguire was next to score and Enda Keena rounded off the first half with two well taken points to leave the half time score at 2-10 to 0-3.

It was to the credit of the home team that they were first off the mark in the second half with first Robbie Shine and then the always impressive Mark Curley pointing to keep the momentum from the first half performance. In fairness to Killucan they lifted their game and managed to breach the Garrycastle defence with a goal to give them some hope early in the second half. Garrycastle responded well and a pointed free by Conor Cosgrove was followed by the same player getting his second and the home team's third goal on the night. Not to be out done, Alan Daly rose to the challenge and produced his second goal as well as a further 3 points. As was the case in the first half Enda Keena got the last score for the home team which followed an earlier point from Stephen Maguire. 

The visitors caught the Garrycastle defence napping at the very end with their second goal to leave the final score of 4-18 to 2-6 when Referee Declan Nugent blew the final whistle.

This was a very good team performance and an impressive scoreline with all scores save one pointed free coming from play from this Garrycastle team who will know that they will face stronger opposition as this Championship develops. Some of the attacking play and finishing was of the highest standard but players know that improvement is needed on the defensive side of their game across the pitch.

GARRYCASTLE: Shane O’Connell, Gary Mullery, John O'Shaughnessy, Ben Kennedy, Stephen McGuire, Mark Curley (0-1), Sean Carey, Johnny McGuire (0-1), Noel Galvin (0-2), Enda Keena (0-3), Conor Cosgrove (2-3, 1f), Peadar Mulvihill, Alan Daly (2-6), Robbie Shine (0-1) and Paul Mulvihill.
SUB: C. Gantley for S. Maguire, B. McCormack for E Keena, C. Murray for B. Kennedy, S. Maguire for J. Maguire. E. Keena for N. Galvin.

Match Report: Harry Mooney