All County League (Division 6)

posted 29 Mar 2014, 11:56 by Garrycastle GAA   [ updated 31 Mar 2014, 05:50 by Matthew Ryan ]

They say goals win matches and that was certainly the case on Saturday when Garrycastle had a comprehensive win over St. Mary's Rochfortbridge. The game which was played in wet conditions was fairly competitive in the opening minutes with both teams trading points. Robbie Shine was first off the mark for the home team with a point and this was followed by points from Noel Galvin and Peadar Mulvihill. St. Mary's were four points to three ahead when Alex Grdiner goaled for the Castle in the 20th minute.The visitors scored two more points to level before Referee Seamus McCormack blew for half time to leave the score 1-3 to 0-6 at the break.

The second half belonged to Garrycastle even though St. Mary's were quite competitive it was the home team who provided the superior finishing. Conor Cosgrove pointed a free and then followed up with a point from play. Sean Brennan then converted another free. The score at
this stage had the home team leading by 1-6 to 0-8 when Shane O'Connell made a brilliant save to deny the visitors taking the lead. This could be regarded as the turning point in the match as Garrycastle then lifted their game and took control led by the hard working Sean Brennan in midfield. From the 45th to the 54th minute Garrycastle brought their score from 1-6 to 3-11 with goals from Conor Cosgrove and Robbie Shine who also added a point and points from Sean Brennan and Kenny Dolan. Substitute Padraic Cosgroave rounded off the scoring with a clever flick to the back of the net to complete the scoring for the home team. This was an impressive performance especially in the second half with all named players and subs making a contribution.
Garrycastle: Shane O'Connell, Stephen Maguire, Anthony Larkin, Ben Kennedy, MarK Curley, Peadar Mulvihill, Gavin Ward, Sean Brennan, Robbie Shine, Emmet Keena, Alex Gardiner, Conor Cosgrove, Paul Mulvihill, Noel Galvin, Enda Keena.
Subs:K. Dolan for Paul Mulvihill, B McCormack for Emmet Keena, F. Doolan for G. Ward, P. O'Donovan for Enda Keena, P. Cosgrove for A. Gardiner, C. Murray for S Maguire.

Report by Harry Mooney