All County League (Division 2)

posted 24 Jun 2013, 08:38 by Matthew Ryan

Garrycastle 3-10 The Downs 0-7

After the dismal performance against St. Mary's in Rochfortbridge just five days earlier Garrycastle's second team would not have been expected to get anything from this home fixture against The Downs' senior team last Sunday evening. Even allowing for the fact that the visitors were without five or six of their regular players this was an excellent performance by a determined Garrycastle team, and in another sport they might well have been asked to appear before the stewards to account for such an amazing transformation in the matter of a few days. The explanation is quite simple. This Garrycastle team played with pride and passion, with every single player giving 100% all through the game. With a strong wind in their favour Garrycastle attacked from the throw-in and Matthew Guiheen was fouled in the square after a surging run. Eoin Monaghan dispatched the resultant penalty to the net and, after Guiheen followed up with a great point he then dispossessed his opponent and went through to set up Paul Mulvihill for another goal. Garrycastle continued to dominate and a third goal from Noel Galvin left them leading by 3-4 to 0-1 at the break.


Eoin Monaghan gave his team a big boost with a quick point from play after the break, but two pointed frees from The Downs raised the visitors' hopes briefly. However, Garrycastle's defence was heroic in the face of the strong wind and The Downs never looked likely to get the goal they badly needed. At the other end Garrycastle continued to play controlled football and managed six points, all from play,into the wind. They were very good value for this victory, which brings a welcome two league points but also gives a great lift to the club after some recent disappointing performances..


GARRYCASTLE: Shane O'Connell. Gary Mullery, Alan Fox, Gary McCallon, Tom McHugh, Karl Henson, Anthony Larkin (0-1), Aidan Browne (0-2), Neill Rattigan, Ciaran O'Neill (0-2), Peadar Mulvihill, Matthew Guiheen (0-1), Paul Mulvihill (1-0), Noel Galvin (1-0), Eoin Monaghan (1-4).

Subs: Robbie Shine for Ciaran O'Neill; Enda Keena for Paul Mulvihill; Jack Donohue for McHugh.

Report by Dermot Ryan