All County league (Division 1)

posted 3 Jun 2013, 09:41 by Matthew Ryan


An under strength Garrycastle side made the short trip down the N6 to take on Castledaly on bank holiday Monday in this Division 1 clash.


The home side made a positive start and put Garrycastle under severe pressure right from the throw-in. They raced into a 5 point lead in the opening 10 minutes thanks to a point from play, a gaol from a penalty and a point from a free. Garrycastle registered their first score in the 11th minute when Eoin Monaghan pointed after good approach play. Alan Daly then chipped in with two points from close range frees. A second Castledaly penalty was well saved by Cathal Mullin at the expense of a 45, which was cleared. A pointed free and one from play stretched the lead for Castledaly. Eoin Monaghan responded with a point for Garrycastle before the break to leave it 1-4 to 0-4 in Castledaly’s favour at half time.


Justin McAteer replaced Anthony Larkin for the second half and was positioned at the edge of the small square. His fielding ability came to good effect in the early exchanges and he scored two points after good catches. However, Castledaly soon exerted superiority and rattled off a succession of points to lead by 1-9 to 0-6 by the 40th minute.  A point from Alan Daly reduced the gap but Castledaly responded with five unanswered points, two of which were from frees, to take a commanding lead. A pointed free from Alan Daly was quickly followed by a goal from Aidan Browne, but it was all too little too late. The last score went to the home side in the last play of the match. The final score 1-15 to 1-8 in Castledaly’s favour.

This was a disappointing performance from Garrycastle even allowing for the many players that were unavailable. There were good performances however from Cathal Mullin, Gary Mullery Justin Barrett, David O’Shaughnessy and Alan Daly in addition to substitute Justin McAteer.

GARRYCASTLE: Cathal Mullin, Gary Mullery, Tom McHugh, Jack Donohue,

Anthony Larkin, Justin Barrett, Gary McCallon, Aidan Browne (1-0), David O’Shaughnessy, Neil Rattigan, Ciaran O’Neill, Matthew Guiheen, Eoin Monaghan (0-2), Alan Daly (0-4, 3f) and Michael Monaghan.

SUBS: Justin McAteer (0-2) for A Larkin (half time); Peadar Mulvihill for E Monaghan (inj, 37 min); Paul Mulvihill for C O’Neill (48 min).

Report by Matt Ryan