Club History‎ > ‎Archives‎ > ‎2012‎ > ‎Match Reports‎ > ‎

All County League (Division 7A) Play Off

posted 16 Dec 2012, 08:08 by Matthew Ryan   [ updated 17 Dec 2012, 05:39 by Unknown user ]


Garrycastle advanced to the Division 7 final, where they play Mullingar Shamrocks, with a win over a depleted Tang side in Tang last Sunday afternoon. The game was switched to Tang as the Garrycastle pitch was unplayable. Garrycastle took some time to settle, even with superior numbers as Tang started the game with just 13 players. Garrycastle took the lead with a point from Sean Brennan, but Tang levelled matters with a good point. The home side nearly took the lead when a promising move opened up the Garrycastle defence but the shot for goal was just wide of the mark. This seemed to jolt Garrycastle into life and a succession of points from Noel Galvin, Paul Mulvihill, Sean Brennan and Ciaran O’Neill pushed them into a comfortable lead. Further points from Paul Mulvihill and Peadar Mulvihill had established a lead of 0-11 to 0-1 at the break.

On the resumption Sean Brennan pointed from a 45 but Tang had their best spell with two quick points of their own. The game’s first goal came to Garrycastle courtesy of Enda Keena in the 38th minute. Garrycastle goalkeeper, Colman Gantley, saved a penalty and had to repeat his heroics a couple of minutes later when saving yet another penalty award. Garrycastle picked off some more points and grabbed a second goal in the 51st minute from Sean Brennan. Ciaran O’Neill raised a green flag from a penalty awarded for a foul on Gary Mullery. The final score 3-18 to -0-5.

It is difficult to judge where this performance leaves this side, as Tang only had the requisite numbers at the start of the second period. Mullingar Shamrocks will prove stiffer opposition in the Division 7 final in a couple of weeks.

GARRYCASTLE: Colman Gantley, Gary Mullery, Conor Harrington, Eoin Mooney, Neil Rattigan, Sean Carey, Frank Doolan, Ciaran O’Neill (1-1, 1-0 pen), Sean Brennan (1-5, 0-1 45mt), Padraig Cosgrove, Peadar Mulvihill (0-1), Brian Carty (0-1), Paul Mulvihill (0-3), Noel Galvin (0-6) and Enda Keena (1-1).

SUBS: Finbar Murray for G Mullery; G Mullery for Paul Mulvihill and Paul Mulvihill for B Carty.