Club History‎ > ‎Archives‎ > ‎2012‎ > ‎Match Reports‎ > ‎

All County Football League (Division 1)

posted 7 Oct 2012, 09:13 by Unknown user   [ updated 7 Oct 2012, 09:13 ]

6 October 2012


Garrycastle kept their quest for Division 1 league honours on track with a well merited win over Tang in Tang last Saturday evening. The game was switched from Garrycastle as the pitch there was unplayable.

It was evident in the early exchanges that Garrycastle had not played for almost 3 weeks as they struggled to put any decent passages of play together. Tang had the lead with a point in the 3rd minute but Garrycastle responded with pointed frees from Conor Cosgrove to lead by the 9th minute. The sides exchanged points, with the Garrycastle scores coming from James Duignan and Neil Rattigan from play to be level on 0-4 each by the 19th minute. Garrycastle grabbed a decisive lead with a couple of goals within a two minute spell, the first coming via the fist of Conor Cosgrove who was on the end of a high delivery into the Tang goalmouth and the second from Patrick Mulvihill after good approach play. Another point from Eoin Monaghan was replied to by a point for Tang in first half injury timer to leave the scoreline 2-5 to0-5 at the break in Garrycastle’s favour.

Tang had a point from a free shortly after the resumption but a third Garrycastle goal in the 34th minute from Eoin Monaghan all but settled the issue. Further points from Eoin Monaghan and Robbie Fox extended their lead. Tang had a point from a free in the 41st minute. Points from Garrycastle substitutes, Ciaran O’Neill and two from James Dolan saw out the match on a scoreline of 3-10 to 0-7.

There were good displays from Enda Mulvihill and Matthew Guiheen in defence. David O’Shaughnessy and Aidan Browne held sway in the centre. Patrick Mulvihill and Eoin Monaghan caught the eye in attack. Garrycastle were missing a number of regulars, but on this display they will struggle to win the county final in two weeks. Mullingar Shamrocks and Garrycastle have agreed to double up for the league in their county final fixture, so the outcome of that game could see Garrycastle clinch the division 1 title.

GARRYCASTLE: Cathal Mullin, Alan Fox, Enda Mulvihill, Gary McCallon, Matthew Guiheen, Mark McCallon, Robbie Fox (0-1), Aidan Browne, David O’Shaughnessy, Paul Dillon, Patrick Mulvihill (1-0), Neil Rattigan (0-1), Conor Cosgrove (1-2, 0-2f), James Duignan (0-1)and Eoin Monaghan (1-2).
SUBS: Ciaran O’Neill (0-1) for E Monaghan (47 min); Seanie O’Donoghue for P Dillon (47 min); Johnny McGuire for N Rattigan (47 min); James Dolan (0-2) for C Cosgrove (inj, 50 min) and Anthony Larkin for R Fox (52 min).

(Originally published on by Matt Ryan)