News‎ > ‎

Under 12 Jim McHugh Memorial Tournament (Group 1, Round 4)

posted 26 Sep 2016, 02:28 by Matthew Ryan

Round 4 of the Jim McHugh Memorial Tournament was a comfortable win for the Garrycastle U12s in the end but it was a hard earned result against a very well organised St Marys team. Garrycastle looked sharp right from the throw-in, winning the early midfield exchanges which resulted in Ben Donegan and Jack Mulvihill picking off some well taken points. St Marys then started to apply the pressure at the other end but the Garrycastle defence was resolute. Con O’Hara was putting in an outstanding performance at full back and Tadgh McKiernan was busy between the posts including a full stretch fingertip save when a St Marys goal looked certain. Garrycastle weathered the storm and dominated the closing stages of the first half. This led to some fast ball into the half-forward line where Killian Redmond operating wide on the left side line was opening up the space for the inside forwards. Scores followed with goals from Oisin Nugent and Bill Carmody.


The second half started with both sides exchanging points but from then on Garrycastle played some outstanding football allowing them to pull away from their visitors. Jamie Carroll was pushing further forward as the half progressed and scored an excellent point after a quick exchange of passes with Cian McCormack. Garrycastle then put together a series of excellent passages of play, working the ball forward at pace which yielded further scores including goals for Bill Carmody and Jamie Carroll. The game finished out with points for Andrew Ruane, Diarmuid Murtagh and Jamie Carroll. It was an excellent team display with a final score of 4-9 to 1-4.


Garrycastle squad: Tadgh McKiernan, Conor McCarthy, Con O’Hara, John McBride, Brian Mulvihill, Conor Sheehan, Tom Daly, Jamie Carroll, Andrew Ruane,

Killian Redmond, Ben Dunegan, Jack Mulvihill, Diarmuid Murtagh, Bill Carmody, Oisin Nugent, Cian McCormack, Mathew Connor, Jake Hanniffy, Francis Derwin


Squad on the day: Kacey Mulvihill, Sean O'Donoghue, Nathan McKeon, David Carter, Tom Sheehan, Anthony Mannion, Killian Keegan, Oisin Mulvihill, Aaron Keegan, Rian Gaynor, Conor McCormack, Niadh Shine, Darragh Glennon, Dylan Frawley, Fionn McMahon, James McHugh, Kealan McNamara, Andrew Henson, Van McCay, Oisin O'Donoghue.