News‎ > ‎

Under 10

posted 27 Jun 2016, 01:54 by Matthew Ryan

The Garrycastle under-10 squad headed to Castletown-Geoghegan for Round 6 of this year’s County Under-10 blitzes. The under-10 team started with a match against Mullingar Shamrocks. This was a real end-to-end battle between two very evenly matched teams, with scores traded evenly throughout. In the second half, the Garrycastle team opened up the narrowest of leads, which they maintained all the way to the finish. This was very hard fought game, and the team deserve great credit for sticking to their task and getting the win. In their second match, the under-10 team played near neighbours Caulry. Some great score taking was a feature of this game, and the Garrycastle team led from start to finish.


Not to be outdone, their younger counterparts in the under-9 team also started very strongly against the under-9 team from Caulry, and driven on by the midfield dynamo of James McHugh, Oisin Mulvihill and Kealan McNamara, took control of the game. There were some great performances in this game from all players, with a special mention to stand-in goalkeeper Fionn McMahon, who pulled off a number of very fine saves. In their second match, the under-9 team found themselves facing Killucan. This was a very stern test of the under-9 group, playing against a much bigger and stronger team. But even though they trailed by a few scores at half-time, they took the game to their opponents, with some excellent tackling, blocking and scoring. As the game entered the last few minutes, it even looked as if they might eke out a win, but ultimately came up short by two points. 


Both teams deserve great credit for their enthusiasm, skill and overall effort on the evening. Some lovely football was on display in both matches. And as always, many thanks are due to the parents who travelled on a miserable evening to cheer on the teams.


Squad: Keelan Ward, Dylan Frawley, Rian Gaynor, Oisin Mulvihill, Niadh Shine, Conor McCormack, Van McCay, Fionn McMahon, Kealan McNamara, James McHugh, Aaron Keegan, Peter Lyster, Sean O'Donoghue, Calum Hudson, Tom Sheehan, Jack Allen, Kacey Mulvihill, Andrew Henson, Killian Keegan, Anthony Mannion, David Carter, Nathan McKeon.