News‎ > ‎

Annual General Meeting

posted 16 Dec 2019, 01:56 by Matthew Ryan

The club’s AGM for 2019 was held recently and in his very detailed report secretary Harry Mooney outlined the events of the year on and off the field. On the field of play, the highlight had to be capturing our 8th Senior Men’s County title secured in dramatic fashion when the team turned around an 8 point deficit to win by a 4 point margin. Both the ladies’ and mens’ senior teams won their respective leagues. Other noted achievements were the girls’ successes at U14 in the Westmeath B Féile, competing in the National Féile in Mayo, U14C Championship winners and claiming the U16 B championship. It was also a great year for the U12 boys team who won the Jim McHugh Tournament for the first time and the U13 boys reaching a Leinster League semi-final. 

Off the field, club membership  increased once again and the related income also increased.  The results of the continued development work can be seen with the addition of dressing rooms and enlarged meeting rooms in our clubhouse, the new storage shed, new ballstop and the scoreboard to name but a few items which have come about through.  He also mentioned the very successful “Tearz 2” event which provided so much joy and entertainment and much needed funds. He  commented that the time invested in the club by a significant number of club members is producing results on and off the field. Finally, he paid tribute to Dessie Dolan, who announced his retirement recently.  He acknowledged the enormous contribution he has made to GAA in Garrycastle, Westmeath and at National level.

Treasurer, John Ruane, outlined the financial transactions for the year showing the club to be in a healthy state in spite of very high outlays.  He acknowledged the role of people involved in fundraising for the club and the amount of work done in the club in the last year.  Chairman, Michael Mannion, in his address thanked everyone who made the club run so successfully during the year.   He thanked William Leahy, who was retiring from the position,  for his efforts as registrar over the last 8 years. The officers elected for the coming year are as follows: Chairperson: Michael Mannion;  Vice Chairpersons: Rhoda Costello, Paraic Joyce.  Secretary:  Harry Mooney;  Asst Secretary: Roy Glennon.   Treasurer: John Ruane; Asst Treasurer: Sinead Denby.  Registrar: To be confirmed; Asst Treasurer: Caitriona Murtagh;  Coaching & Development Officers: Sean Holly, Trish Dolan;  PRO: John Fagan; County Board Delegates: Chair/Sec. Social Media & Communications Officer: Ashley Cahill; Senior men’s team rep: John Gaffey; Senior ladies’  team rep: Laura Brennan;   Ladies’ club nominee:  Ger Griffith;  Childrens’ officers:  Sinead Shine, To be confirmed; Child Welfare Designated Liaison Officer: Maeve Gately.   Healthy club officer: Denise Dolan.   Pitch Development Co-ordinator: John Henson; Social & Fundraising Co-ordinator: Noel Gardiner;  Club House Co-ordinator: Michael Gantley; Committee: Gerry Duignan; Matt Ryan, Mark Redmond; Gerry O’Neill, Danny Mullery, Terry Larkin, Dermot Ryan, Oliver Flannagan, Eamonn Keena, William Leahy.